Home International Olympics Frankie Fredericks to head IOC Evaluation Commission for 2024 Olympics and Paralympics

Frankie Fredericks to head IOC Evaluation Commission for 2024 Olympics and Paralympics


Namibia’s Frankie Fredericks has been named chairman of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) Evaluation Commission that will oversee the bids for the 2024 Olympics and Paralympics, it was announced today. 

Fredericks, winner of four Olympic silver medals in the 100 and 200 metres at Barcelona 1992 and Atlanta 1996, will oversee a Commission that will scrutinise the bids from Budapest, Los Angeles, Paris and Rome.

The 48-year-old Fredericks, a graduate of  Brigham Young University in the United States, is already chair of the IOC’s Coordination Commission in charge of Buenos Aires’ preparations for the 2018 Summer Youth Olympic Games.

He is also a member of the International Association of Athletics Federations’ ruling Council. 

“Olympic Agenda 2020, with regard to the organisation of the Olympic Games, puts a special focus on sustainability and the athletes’ experience,” said Bach.

“This is where Frank Fredericks, as a four-time Olympic silver medallist in sprint and former chair of the IOC Athletes’ Commission, has great expertise.”

Fredericks will be joined on the Commission by 13 members, including 11 other IOC members, who will travel to each city next year to inspect their bids.

After their visits, the Commission will prsent  a report to IOC members a few weeks before they vote on who to choose at the Session in Lima. 

Prominent IOC members on the Commission include Morocco’s Nawal El Moutawakel and Sweden’s Gunilla Lindberg, currently chairing the IOC Coordination Commissions for Rio 2016 and Pyeongchang 2018 respectively.

Tsunekazu Takeda, President of the Japanese Olympic Committee and who is closely involved in preparations for Tokyo 2020, is also included on the Commission.

There are three International Federation Presidents on the Commission.

Spain’s Marisol Casado from the International Triathlon Union, Turkey’s Uğur Erdener from World Archery and Poul-Erik Høyer from the Badminton World Federation are joined by Patrick Baumann, secretary general of the International Basketball Association. 

All four are IOC members. 

The other IOC members on the Commission include Zimbabwe’s Kirsty Coventry, a double Olympic gold medallist in the 200m backstroke at Athens 2004 and Beijing 2008, and Brazilian Bernard Rajzman, a former volleyball player and winner of an Olympic silver medal at Los Angeles 1984.

Philippines Mikaela Cojuangco Jaworski, a former show jumper who won two gold medals at the 2002 Asian Games, and Habu Gumel, President of the Nigerian Olympic Committee. are the final IOC members on the Commission.

There are two New Zealanders on the Commission, including Duane Kale, a former swimmer and winner of four Paralympic gold medals. 

He is joined by Kereyn Smith, chief executive of the New Zealand Olympic Committee. 

Neither are IOC members. 

“It is a great honour and responsibility,” said Smith.

“My commitment is to assess the bids from an athlete and National Olympic Committee perspective and I look forward to adding value to the wider Olympic Movement.”

More experts are expected to be appointed later this year to assist the Commission.

  • By Duncan Mackay
  • This article was republished with permission from the original publisher, www.insidethegames.biz


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.