Home International IOC Three-times Olympic Champion Receives IOC President’s Trophy for Sportsmanship

Three-times Olympic Champion Receives IOC President’s Trophy for Sportsmanship


Three-times Olympic champion Dario Cologna of Switzerland has been awarded the International Olympic Committee (IOC) President’s Trophy for sportsmanship at a ceremony in Lausanne.

Cologna, who has also won three International Ski Federation World Cup crystal globes and a world title in skiathlon, was given the award as after clinching the Sochi 2014 Olympic Games 15 kilometres classical race title, he waited nearly half an hour for Roberto Carcelen of Peru, who finished last, to cross the line so he could shake his hand.

The Peruvian was the first athlete from the South American nation to participate at the Winter Olympics and was competing with broken ribs following a training accident sustained in the lead-up to the Games.

As well as receiving the IOC President’s Trophy, the 29-year-old Swiss donated the ski suit he wore in Sochi, where he also won the 30km skiathlon event, to the Olympic Museum in Lausanne.

IOC President Thomas Bach praised the Swiss skier’s career, congratulating him for embracing the Olympic spirit of fair play in his gesture in the Russian resort.

Bach also hailed the donation of Cologna’s ski suit to the Museum, which opened in June 1993, and thanked him for sharing a piece of Olympic history with the public.

Cologna, whose other Olympic gold came in the 15km freestyle event at the Games in Vancouver, Canada in 2010, is a well-known personality in his home nation.

He was named Swiss Person of the Year in 2012 and Swiss Athlete of the Year in 2013.

The skier has claimed a total of 31 podium finishes during his career to date, including 11 individual victories.

The Olympic Museum, which reopened in 2013 after it underwent a two-year renovation project, displays permanent and temporary exhibits relating to sport and the Olympic Movement, housing more than 10,000 artifacts.

It attracts around 250,000 visitors each year.

This article was republished with permission from the original publisher, Inside the Games.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.