Home Business Sport Marketing 2013-14 Under Armour Athletics Directors of the Year Announced

2013-14 Under Armour Athletics Directors of the Year Announced


The National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) announced the 28 winners of the Under Armour AD of the Year Award (ADOY) today. The award spans seven divisions (NCAA FBS, FCS; Division I-AAA, II, III, NAIA/Other Four-Year Institutions and Junior College/Community Colleges). Winners will receive their awards during the James J. Corbett Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, June 11 atNACDA’s 49th Annual Convention at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida.

NACDA Executive Director Bob Vecchione explains the ADOY Award is essential because it highlights the efforts of athletics directors at all levels for their commitment and positive contributions to student-athletes, campuses and their surrounding communities.

“Since 1998, NACDA has been highlighting the impressive contributions made by athletics directors across all divisions of our membership,” said NACDA Executive Director Bob Vecchione. “This award allows athletics directors to be recognized not only nationally, but also in their respective communities which heightens the awareness of their leadership position in the athletics enterprise.”

Winners of the 2013-14 Under Armour AD of the Year Awards are:

Winner Institution
Football Bowl Subdivision
Scott Barnes Utah State
Thomas Boeh Fresno State
Dan Guerrero UCLA
Jim Weaver Virginia Tech
Football Championship Subdivision
Rob Bernardi Nicholls State
Troy Dannen Northern Iowa
Sandy Hatfield Clubb Drake
Hunter Yurachek Coastal Carolina
Division I-AAA
Chris May St. Louis
Jack McDonald Quinnipiac
Kim Record UNC Greensboro
Eric Sexton Wichita State
Division II
Kevin Buisman Minnesota State Mankato
Jim Johnson Pittsburg State
Joan McDermott Metro State
David Scott West Florida
Division III
Thomas Calder Johns Hopkins
Tim Downes Emory
Tracey Ranieri SUNY Oneonta
Don Tencher Rhode Island College
Jack Hank Our Lady of the Lake
Troy Plummer Grand View
Keith Spataro Menlo
Shay Wyatt Westminster
Junior/Community Colleges
Richard Holler Westmoreland County CC
John Jackson Dean College
Greg Silcox Paradise Valley CC
Jack Sullivan County College of Morris

All NACDA-member directors of athletics in the United States, Canada and Mexico who met the criteria were eligible for the award. Among the criteria were service as an AD for a minimum of five academic years; demonstration of commitment to higher education and student-athletes; continuous teamwork, loyalty and excellence; and the ability to inspire individuals or groups to high levels of accomplishments. Additionally, each AD’s institution must have passed a compliance check through its appropriate governing body (i.e., NCAA, NAIA, etc.), in which the institution could not have been on probation or cited for a lack of institutional control within the last five years during the tenure of the current athletics director.

Nominators were NACDA-member directors of athletics, institutional presidents and conference commissioners. Special Selection Committees composed of current and former directors of athletics, present and past NCAA and NAIA presidents, current and former commissioners and other key athletics administrators voted on nominees for the award. A complete listing of Selection Committee members can be found on NACDA’s Web site at www.nacda.com.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.