Home Pro ATP

Nadal Wins Record 10th French Open, Ostapenko Wins Women’s Side

Rafael Nadal won his 10th French Open title. Photo: AFP Photo/CHRISTOPHE SIMON

Spain’s Rafael Nadal became the first player to win 10 men’s singles titles at a Grand Slam tournament after beating Stan Wawrinka of Switzerland in the final of the French Open today.

The 31-year-old claimed a comfortable 6-2, 6-3, 6-1 straight sets win at Roland Garros in Paris to claim the 15th Grand Slam title of his career.

Only Australia’s Margaret Court has more victories at a Grand Slam tournament, with 11 Australian Open women’s singles wins between 1960 and 1973.

As a result of his latest title, Nadal moves above the United States’ Pete Sampras on the list of all-time Grand Slam winners.

He is now second behind Switzerland’s Roger Federer, who has 18.

The Spaniard won the title for the loss of just 35 games throughout the competition.

Only Sweden’s Bjorn Borg has a better record, as he lost just 32 at the 1978 edition of the French Open.

The defeat was the first for Wawrinka in a Grand Slam final after winning all three of his previous appearances at the 2014 Australian Open, 2015 French Open and 2016 US Open.

“It’s a feeling that’s impossible to describe,” Nadal said.

“For me the nerves and the adrenaline I feel when I play on this court is impossible to compare to another court.

“It is the most important event in my career, to win again here is impossible to describe.”

Latvia’s Jelena Ostapenko became the first unseeded player to win the women’s French Open title in 84-years after beating Romanian Simona Halep. Photo: Christophe Ena/Associated Press

Ostapenko Stuns Halep to Win First Grand Slam Title

Latvia’s Jelena Ostapenko became the first unseeded player to win the women’s French Open title in 84-years after beating Romanian Simona Halep today.

The 20-year-old came from a set down to beat Halep at Roland Garros in Paris and become Latvia’s first Grand Slam champion.

Great Britain’s Margaret Scriven was the last unseeded player to lift the Suzanne Lenglen Cup in 1933.

After losing the opening set 4-6, Ostapenko was 3-0 down before an astonishing turnaround saw her come through to win the second and third sets 6-4, 6-3.

Ostapenko had never won a Women’s Tennis Association (WTA) Tour-level title before and was playing in only her eighth Grand Slam.

En route to the final, she beat a string of higher-ranked players, including Australia’s Samantha Stosur, Caroline Wozniacki of Denmark and Switzerland’s Timea Bacsinszky.

“I cannot believe I am champion at 20 years old,” said Ostapenko.

“It’s so amazing to be here.

“I have no words, it is my dream.

“I knew Simona was a great player.

“But I tried to play aggressive and everything turned my way.

“I fought for every point and I’m glad it finished my way.”

For Halep, who would have become world number one had she taken the title, the wait for a first Grand Slam victory goes on.

She was playing in her second French Open final, after losing in three sets to Maria Sharapova in 2014.

By Max Winters

Republished with permission from insidethegames.biz

Previous articleParis 2024 Bid Receives Support from European Parliament
Next articlePenguins Repeat as Stanley Cup Champions


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.