Home International Winter Sports Bode Miller not Nominated for 2017-2018 United States Ski Team

Bode Miller not Nominated for 2017-2018 United States Ski Team

Bode Miller not Nominated for 2017-2018 United States Ski Team
Bode Miller. Photo: Kathleen Baglio Humphreys/Union Leader Correspondent

Bode Miller has not been nominated for the United States ski team for the 2017-2018 season, leaving his prospects of competing at next year’s Winter Olympics in Pyeongchang in doubt.

The veteran earned an Olympic gold medal in the super combined gold at Vancouver 2010.

He has claimed a further three silver and two bronze medals in four Olympic appearances.

Miller, due to turn 40 in October, will reportedly still have the chance to compete for the US at World Cups despite not being nominated.

He has not raced competitively since suffering a hamstring injury at the International Ski Federation (FIS) Alpine World Championships in February 2015.

Team nominations will be confirmed when the FIS points list for the season is published in the coming months, with an official team announcement expected in the autumn.

Mikaela Shiffrin, of the U.S.A., celebrates her gold medal in the women’s slalom at the alpine skiing World Championships in St. Moritz, Switzerland, Saturday, Feb. 18, 2017. Shiffrin has praised Colorado’s law making Olympic medals tax exempt. Photo: AP Photo/Marco Trovati

Mikaela Shiffrin heads the nominations for the team after dominating throughout the 2016-2017 season.

She earned the overall and slalom World Cup titles, meaning she will her head into the Olympic season as one of the America’s best hopes for success at Pyeongchang 2018.

Shiffrin won the slalom Olympic gold medal at Sochi 2014.

Lindsey Vonn, a two-time world champion and Vancouver 2010 Olympic gold medalist, is also nominated for the team.

She is joined by Stacey Cook, Breezy Johnson, Julia Mancuso, Alice McKennis, Laurenne Ross, Resi Stiegler and Jacqueline Wiles in the women’s line-up.

Ted Ligety, an Olympic gold medalist at Turin 2006 and Sochi 2014 in combined and giant slalom respectively, has been included among the men’s nominations for the A-team.

Bryce Bennett, David Chodounsky, Tommy Ford, Travis Ganong, Steven Nyman and Andrew Weibrecht have also been named in the men’s team.

Each athlete who accepts their nomination will receive a high level of world-class program support.

They will have access to the US Ski and Snowboard Center of Excellence, as well as elite coaching, sport science, sports medicine and high performance staff.

By Michael Pavitt

Republished with permission from insidethegames.biz


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.