Home Pro Racing

Marquez Crowned 2017 Moto GP Champion

Marc Marquez crosses the line to clinch the 2017 MotoGP world championship. Photo: AP

Well the 2017 Moto GP racing season has come to its 18 race end and the results have been tabulated. The 2017 GP champion is Marc Marquez of Spain and becomes only one of four riders to have world championships in three different categories. Marquez has previously won the 2010 125 cc, the 2012 Moto2, and the 2013 and 2014 Moto GP Championships. He is the first rider to win the premier class in his first season since Kenny Roberts accomplished the feat in 1978. When he defended his title in 2014, he did so with three rounds left in the season. His brilliant ride this year included six wins, three top three finishes, and two top five finishes to go along with only two DNFs during the 18 race season.

The top 10 standings include:

  1. Marc Marquez (Spain)
  2. Andrea Dovizioso (Italy)
  3. Maverick Vinales (Spain)
  4. Dani Pedrosa (Spain)
  5. Valentino Rossi (Italy)
  6. Johann Zarco (France)
  7. Jorge Lorenzo (Spain)
  8. Danilo Petrucci (Italy)
  9. Cal Crutchlow (Britain)
  10. Jonas Folger (Germany)

By Dr. Vincent K. Ramsey

Dr. Vincent K. Ramsey, is the Chair of Sports Exercise Science at the United States Sports Academy, and can be reached at vramsey@ussa.edu.

Previous articleThe Advantages of Being a Good Loser – Veselin Topalov
Next articleUnited States Claims First Fed Cup Win for 17 Years


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.